cockermouth logo
Cockermouth - The 1917 Derwent Mills Ladies Football Team

The 1917 Derwent Mills Ladies Football Team

Patrick Brennan sent me this photograph. Patrick is an amateur historian with a particular interest in the early history of women's football, particularly the munitions workers' teams of the Great War. He recently came across the attached photograph which shows the women's football team of Derwent Mills in 1917. The picture was taken shortly after 27th October 1917, when Derwent Mills won the Workington Ladies' Challenge Cup.

The line-up of the winning Cockermouth team was as follows:-

M. Berry, F. Bigrigg, K. A. Holmes, A. Holmes, L. Simm, S. E. Morgan, M. Plaskitt, J. A. Pennington, B. Stuart, S. Baxter, F. Burns

F. Bigrigg scored the only goal of the final - a disputed penalty, which led to a noisy protest by the losing side from Seaton, who refused to accept their loser's medals.

Unfortunately we cannot match names to faces, so if any website visitors are able to do so, we would be grateful for any feedback you can give.